Nepalese celebrate 9 different new years because they have dozens of ethnic groups with their own unique calendars. While Nepal uses a solar calendar with fixed dates for most purposes, it reserves the traditional lunar calendar for religious festivals, birthdays, and “death anniversaries”. The Nepali New Year generally occurs between April 11th and 15th on the Gregorian Calendar and this year it falls on April 13. It is an official public holiday which marks the country’s 1st day of the year 2074.